Hilderinc Football Club

Welcome to the Home of the Blacks!


Revolutionary Hilderincs Benefit From Workout

Posted on May 6, 2017 at 11:50 AM

HFC Media File Picture

It was a ground-breaking day as Hilderinc Football Club unveiled their first ever female player, in keeping true to their enduring vision “as an all-inclusive football team which embraces people of all races, language, religion and gender” and as clear indication as a progressive Club.

With a game into the second half of their debut season in the ESPZEN Saturday League 17 following their transition from the Sunday League, the Hilderincs made most of a break in fixture to occupy themselves with a friendly game against Club M FC, an overly acquainted opponent, whom they would have played five times before the current campaign concludes.

Having no less than five players who had played a total of three games between themselves, including three debutants, the day was much about doubling up as trials for mid-season recruitment, while the rest of the Blacks kept up to speed with simulated competitive momentum as provided by the opponents of the day.

Taking opportunity to experiment, a by-word of the day, the Blacks deployed Iain Kennedy, who only made his own debut last weekend, in the heart of defence with Nicholas Ledenmark, while Mike De-Bear and Munya Ahmed, HFC’s bona fide female Hilderinc, occupied the fullback roles, while Joh Loh and another debutant Raihan Hamzah kept the business in the middle of the park with Erdogan Albay, Omar Mahnin, Alberto Bartoli and Rahmat Saring provided the attacking impetus.

Though the Blacks went a goal behind in the early minutes of the game in an unforgiving heat, they were quick to level the accounts through Erdogan Albay after the German completed Nicholas Ledenmark’s delightful freekick after his first goal for the Hilderincs. 

Together with Gopal Peethambaran in goal and the impressive exploits of the improvised but resolute backline, which also included the third debutant, Jeremy Tatton, the heroics of Joh Loh and Raihan Hamzah and the workhorse forwards matched the opponents at every stride as they produced an inspired performance in spite of some obvious handicap of unfamiliarity of playing together for the first time.

For all their outward disadvantages, the Blacks could have taken the lead had the normally proficient Rahmat Saring dispatched his spotkick, after he was apprehended in the box, but on a day when the constant mantra was that the results did not matter any ounce, the shortcoming was quickly forgotten.

With limited resources to counter the weather more than anything, the Hilderincs had to constantly shuffle the pack to ease the discomforts of the temperature, but it was full marks to the brave Blacks who gave nothing less than 100% in their efforts.

The late inclusion of veteran Kavin Singh, who has been enjoying an impressive second wind on Sunday as the Hilderinc Twās’ captain, provided much needed steel, while the effervescent Rama Witjaksono carried on with the fine earlier showing by the Jon and Raihan pairing.

David Calvert, who returned to action after a month was perhaps the player individually hard done on the day when he might have scored a hat-trick or more had his outstanding attempts found the back of the net, but he compellingly proved why he was badly missed in the Hilderincs recent slump.

While Club M made the most of the Blacks’ exhaustion towards to the end, it mattered little to the Hilderincs who had a truly fruitful outing, achieving the objectives set immediately after last weekend’s game.

With the debutants and recent arrivals performing admirably alongside the mainstay of the team, the attention now gears back to league action, as the Hilderincs will now work towards the long overdue upturn.

Final Score

Club M FC 4 : Hilderinc FC 1

Goal: Erdogan Albay

Starting Line Up

1. Gopal Peethambaran

2. Munya Ahmed

3. Nicholas Ledenmark

4. Iain Kennedy

5. Michael De Bear

6. Jon Loh

7. Raihan Hamzah

8. Erdogan Albay

9. Alberto Bartoli

10. Omar Mahnin

11. Rahmat Saring


12. Kavin Singh

13. David Calvert

14. Jeremy Tatton

15. Ian Morris

Hilderinc Football Club proudly sponsored by

Categories: Match Day